What is Epiphany? Who Were the Magi?

Catholics, Byzantine and Orthodox celebrate Epiphany when the three wisemen visited the Holy Family in Bethlehem. The Wisemen are also called Magi (from 'Magician'), Three Kings or in Spanish, Los Reyes. These kings each came from a different country and were not Jewish nor were they kings from the Orient as we know it (from Asia or Far East). They were most likely Persian, Egyptian, Ethiopian or Turkish. The term 'oriental' was a looser reference at that time, meaning anywhere east of the Mediterranean and south of Judea. Read on The Magi: The History of the Wisemen Whose Visit to the Nativity is Celebrated as Epiphany

Search This Blog

Follow by Email

Total Pageviews